Photo: Rich Lewton

Rider comments

73510225 severn hc uh90 20171007 0099
Photo:Rich Lewton

Most of the hill climbing brigade had competed in the wet Chippenham Wheelers open event in the morning, whilst I had been in bed. I was hoping that my not-so-marginal sleep gains would help me land a podium spot and valuable points in the WTTA Hill Climb competition. 

Whilst skinsuits may have been damp, spirits amongst the more hardy competitors certainly were not. This week’s carpark was a close packed affair and it was full of conversations over warm up procedure, tyre pressures and of course the age old debate over whether hill climbs are fun or not. I think hill climbs are the friendliest of cycling events and I’m always humbled by the generosity of other competitors’ support.

I did a solid warm up and the strong tailwind and the now warm sunshine was giving my legs (and head) good sensations. 2 minute hills are all about execution, there is very little time to correct for mistakes. I felt strong on over the first half with the crowd willing you onto the flatter section after the steep. The legs were beginning to really tie up as I hit the final steeper gradient before the line and I had the conscious thought that I should have gone to the gym for more power. I crossed the line in 1.57.7 which I was pleased with. Charles Coleman clearly smashed it with a strong finish to take the win and the everstrong Jo Jago taking a clear victory in the women’s event.

Next the WTTA takes on Belmont – there should be an epic battle in the team prize with UOB, DRK, Bristol South, BRC, Severn and SAS all putting forward competitive teams!


Know what happened?

Sign In to add a race report


Position First Name Last Name Club Precise Time
1 charles coleman DRK Racing 01:57.5
2 Andrew Kirby University of Bristol Cycling Club (UOBCC) 01:57.7
3 Russell Peace Dursley Road Club 02:01.1
3 Glyndwr Griffiths 73Degrees CC 02:01.1
5 Chris Parker Velo Club St Raphael 02:03.9
6 Josh Coyne Okehampton CC 02:04.0
7 Phil Stonelake Bristol Road Club 02:06.6
8 George Jones Velo Club St Raphael 02:07.2
9 Joe Hawksworth Bristol South Cycling Club 02:10.7
10 Ted Cross University of Bristol Cycling Club (UOBCC) 02:13.2
11 Jack Phillips Salt and Sham Cycle Club 02:13.6
12 Steve Thomas Ride 24/7 02:13.9
13 Khem SATTAUR University of Bath Cycling Club 02:14.7
14 Oliver Walker-Hayes University of Bristol Cycling Club (UOBCC) 02:14.9
15 Gordon Markus Severn Road Club 02:15.7
16 Adam Whittaker Salt and Sham Cycle Club 02:16.1
17 ben wainwright Team Tor 2000 (Kalas) 02:17.1
18 Daniel Alford Bristol South Cycling Club 02:17.4
19 Mark Jerzak Chew Valley Cycling Club 02:19.5
20 Neil Reynolds Velo Club Montpellier 02:22.9
21 Andrew Turner Bristol South Cycling Club 02:24.9
22 Andrew Diffey Somer Valley Cycling Club 02:25.8
22 Anthony White Royal Dean Forest Cycle Club 02:25.8
24 David Cullen Bristol South Cycling Club 02:33.2
25 Joanne Jago Performance Cycles CC 02:37.1
26 Simon Thexton Performance Cycles CC 02:47.9
27 Frances Bromley Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles 02:48.6
28 Anabell Orenz North Cotswold CC 02:49.2
29 Louise Hargreaves Salt and Sham Cycle Club 02:55.4
30 Alice Thomson DRK Racing 02:58.3
31 Heidi Blunden Sodbury Cycle Sport 03:13.1
32 Alice Earle VeloVitesse/ALLCAP/James Barry/Johnson Controls – Hitachi 03:19.9
DNS michael gates Chew Valley Cycling Club 00:00.0
DNS Will Acworth Bristol South Cycling Club 00:00.0
DNS joe norledge Bristol South Cycling Club 00:00.0
 Sign In to Flag This Event

Do you compete?

Sign up to add your own events and reports to fauxpro.cc

Sign In / up