HSBC UK Cyclo-Cross National Trophy Bradford - Men

Belgian star, Braam Merlier (Steylaerts-Betfirst), rode to victory again in this Saturday’s HSBC UK CX National Trophy round 5. He was able to match the success of his ride last month in Kent, after literally diving ‘head first’ into this weeks racing; in the first few moments, he was taken down by the American rider, Jeremy Durrin (Neon-Velo CT) who slipped on a muddy section of the course. Nevertheless, the Belgian worked hard to claw his way back to the front, and joined Lewis Craven (Wheelbase Altura MGD) to get away from both Durrin and the main group. Merlier managed to open up a 20 seconds gap from Craven in the final 2 laps and held on to the line.

Grant Ferguson (CST American Eagle), the Rio 2016 Olympian, jumped Craven in the final lap and powered to 2nd. Craven rolled in to a well-earned 3rd place having made some intelligent, race defining moves earlier on. Ian Field (Hargroves-Ridley-Montezuma’s) came in 4th to do enough to secure the series title.

Rider comments

At the start somebody in front of me crashed and I also went over him so, my start was not so good. After the first lap I got back to the front so it was better.

I rode the last four laps alone which was better because I got my own rhythm then I got 20 seconds and I knew if I didn’t make a mistake I would win.

Bradford. One of the best and hardest courses on the calendar made even harder with the sub zero conditions. Got a half decent start and after a messy first lap with crashes all over the place it was time to get into a rhythm. Surprisingly muddy conditions considering the temperatures made for some tough run sections. Managed to consistently pick off riders throughout and get a top 30 result. Decent crowds out and lots of cheering made for a classic race!

Know what happened?

Sign In to add a race report


Position Name Club name Time
1 Braam Merlier 01:00:59:000
2 Grant Ferguson CST American Eagle 01:01:09:000
3 Lewis Craven Wheelbase Altura MGD 01:01:18:000
4 Ian Field Hargroves-Ridley-Montezuma's 01:01:50:000
5 Jeremy Durrin 01:02:50:000
6 Steven James Hope Factory Racing 01:03:11:000
7 Nicholas Craig SCOTT Racing 01:03:27:000
8 Paul Oldham Hope Factory Racing 01:03:38:000
9 Iain Paton Leslie Bike Shop/Bikers Boutiq... 01:04:08:000
10 Calum Fernie Nottingham Clarion CC 01:04:26:000
11 Mark McGuire 100% ME 01:04:30:000
12 Jack Clarkson Hope Factory Racing 01:04:38:000
13 Giles Drake Leisure Lakes 01:04:44:000
14 Billy Harding PH-MAS/Paul Milnes/Oldfield ER... 01:04:55:000
15 Joe Williams PH-MAS/Paul Milnes/Oldfield ER... 01:05:34:000
16 Tony Fawcett Bergamont UK 01:05:57:000
17 Robert Jebb Hope Factory Racing 01:06:29:000
18 Michael Butler Hargroves-Ridley-Montezuma's 01:06:38:000
19 George Fox Paul Milnes - Bradford Olympic... 01:06:58:000
20 George Thompson Sleaford Whls CC 01:07:06:000
21 Nicholas Barnes Hargroves-Ridley-Montezuma's 01:06:50:000
22 Harry Yates Hargroves-Ridley-Montezuma's 01:07:55:000
23 William Gascoyne Sherwood Pines Cycles- Forme ---
24 Martin Woffindin ---
25 Tom Martin Wheelbase Altura MGD ---
26 Scott Chalmers Magspeed Racing ---
27 Jack Murphy ---
28 Max Gibbons Ludlow Brewery Race Team ---
29 James Madgwick Bloodwise QSW ---
30 Kieren Brown Argi+ 8point8 - The Winter Gre... ---
31 Bruce Dalton Team Kinesis UK ---
32 David Beachill Geared Up & CN Cycles RT ---
33 Dave Powell Horwich CC ---
34 Roddy Weir Muckle Cycle Club ---
35 Callum Riley Newdales Cycles RT ---
36 David Spencer Velo Club Venta ---
37 Edwyn Oliver-Evans ---
38 Stefan Partridge Bolsover & District Cycling Cl... ---
39 Daniel Charlton Hetton Hawks Cycling Club ---
40 Benjamin Horrobin Horwich CC ---
41 Ryan Middlemiss East Bradford CC ---
42 Gareth Brookes Rapha Cycling Club ---
43 Alan Collins Portsmouth North End CC ---
44 Ben Dransfield KTM UK Factory MTB Team ---
45 Alex Foley Leeds Mercury Cycling Club ---
46 Joseph Romain Pedalsport Cycling Club ---
--- George Baker University of Sheffield CC ---
--- Ryan Henry Numplumz Mountainbikers ---
--- Tyla Loftus Wheelbase Altura MGD ---
--- Christopher Rothwell Ride 24/7 ---
--- Robert Watson Paceline Cycles North ---
--- Scott Wilson Team Elite ---
 Sign In to Flag This Event

Do you compete?

Sign up to add your own events and reports to

Sign In / up