National Cyclocross Championships Elite Women

Nikki Brammier (MUDIITA Canyon) and Helen Wyman (Xypex-Verge Sport) took an early lead in the Elite Women's National Cyclocross Championships with Beth Crumption (Storey Racing) and Hannah Payton (Team Kinesis UK) battling for 3rd position behind them.

Bramier and Wyman were closely watched during the opening laps of the race and, in the fight for 3rd, Payton opened up a small advantage and looked like she might have the edge over Crupmton until Crumpton caught and passed her after around 20 minutes. 

Wyman seemed to have the edge over Brammier on the climbs and gapped Brammier on several occasions before the elastic snapped with two laps to go and Wyman was able to keep Brammier at bay for the rest of the race.

Wyman took the victory and the tenth title of her career with Brammier in second and Beth Crumpton in third place.

Rider comments

I’m really happy to come away with Bronze, It was always going to be tough against World class competition for the win but a medal was my goal & I achieved that, so I’m really pleased to be able to add this to my National Trophy overall for this season.

Sometimes things go your way and sometimes they don’t, you do everything you can do to be the best you can be when it really matters but you can’t control everything and having fought sickness for the last two weeks was far from an ideal run up to today’s championships. Proud to have found the strength to battle for the win and I gave it everything I had today. Thanks so much for the amazing support. Congrats to Helen on the win. Now to recover and get healthy for the next races.

Know what happened?

Sign In to add a race report


Position First Name Last Name Team
1 Helen Wyman Xypex - Verge Sport
2 Nikki Brammeier MUDIIITA Canyon
3 Bethany Crumpton Storey Racing
4 Hannah Payton Team Kinesis UK
5 Kate Eedy Team Empella Cyclo-Cross.Com
6 Rebecca Preece Leisure Lakes
7 Joanne Clay TORQ Performance
8 Annabel Simpson Hope Factory Racing
9 Ruby Miller Hargroves-Ridley-Montezuma's
10 Emma Knight Evans Cycles Race Team
11 Christina Wiejak Barrow Central Wheelers
12 Clare Ross Brixton Cycles Club
13 Jennifer Forrester RTLazer
14 Erica Moks Mountain Goat Coaching
15 Lydia Brookes
16 Fran Whyte Bicester Millennium CC
17 Jemma Ridley Derwentside CC
18 Kate Smith Derwentside CC
 Sign In to Flag This Event

Do you compete?

Sign up to add your own events and reports to

Sign In / up