National Cyclocross Championships U23 Men

Tom Pidcock did as most expected in the Under 23 National Cyclocross and rode away from the rest in Sunderland.

Ben Turner (Beobank-Corendon)  looked to be the only man able to challenge Pidcock during the opening laps with Thomas Mein (Hope Factroy Racing) also looking strong.

Daniel Tulett (Specialized Racing) showed his strength a little later in the race but was unable to ride back into contention for the win, eventually making his way back up to Mein and beating him to the bronze medal.

Rider comments

I didn't have the greatest of starts and felt pretty flat for the first couple of laps, which is where the gaps were opened up. I slipped back quite a bit towards the middle of the race however seemed to pick it up again at the end and salvaged a decent 3rd place. I was a bit gutted to not be able to mix it up with Ben and Tom at the front, there's always next week though.

Was a good race on a hard course, I felt good and was holding the gap to Tom and just tried to keep as smooth as possible and turned out to be a good race in the end so I am happy

Know what happened?

Sign In to add a race report


Pos FirstName LastName Club
1 Thomas Pidcock Telenet Fidea Lions
2 Ben Turner Corendon-Circus
3 Daniel Tulett Specialized Racing
4 Thomas Mein Hope Factory Racing
5 Cameron Orr 100% ME
6 Stephen Lee Derwentside CC
7 Mark McGuire Wheelbase Cabtech Junior
8 Calum Fernie Nottingham Clarion CC
9 Joe Williams PH-MAS/Paul Milnes/Oldfield
10 Billy Harding PH-MAS/Paul Milnes/Oldfield
11 Harry Yates Hargroves-Ridley-Montezuma
12 George Fox Paul MilnesBradford Olympic
13 Ewan Grivell-Mellor Mid Shropshire Wheelers
14 Max Gibbons Ludlow Brewery RT
15 Finlay Robertson Derwentside CC
16 Tom Martin Wheelbase Altura MGD
17 Christopher Rothwell BW Cycles
18 James Madgwick Bloodwise QSW
19 Frazer Clacherty OMX Pro Team
20 James Edmond Mountain Goat Coaching
21 Kieren Brown Argi+ 8The Winter Green
22 Daniel Charlton Hetton Hawks CC
23 Kieran Jarvis Cycle Team OnForm
24 Roddy Weir Muckle Cycle Club
25 Nicholas Hamilton Mountain Goat Coaching
26 Ross Harnden Malvern Cycle Sport
27 Simeon Young Pedalsport Cycling Club
28 Joseph Ricciardi Team Manx Telecom
29 Benjamin Horrobin Horwich CC
30 Ryan Middlemiss East Bradford CC
31 Calum Kennedy North Sports/Kinesis UK
32 Brandon Stock Northern Ride
33 Christian Webster-Reed Cestria Cycles RT
 Sign In to Flag This Event

Do you compete?

Sign up to add your own events and reports to

Sign In / up